The announcement of 41 new “special housing areas” across Auckland will allow 18,000 new homes to be fast-tracked.

As part of the plans, parts of Great North Rd, Otahuhu, Flat Bush, New Lynn, Northcote, Albany East and Takanini have been earmarked as strategic areas for large-scale development.

Yesterday’s announcement by Auckland Mayor Len Brown and Housing Minister Nick Smith detailed the third, and biggest, tranche of new housing areas identified under last year’s Auckland Housing Accord.

The accord provides for the creation of areas where consents will be streamlined and fast-tracked. But the plans are raising concern in areas from Takapuna to Newmarket, as residents realise their streets will change dramatically.

Dr Smith and Mr Brown made their announcement at 11 Akepiro St, Mt Eden, a site to be developed into 18 units by Ockham Residential, whose developments include The Isaac and Turing apartment buildings in Grey Lynn.

via Aucklands Fast-track Plan | Affordable Homes.